Skip to content

Hello blogosphere!

August 24, 2009

Ta da!  Presenting the Cookstr blog.  And I should introduce myself. I’m the Editor in Chief of Cookstr.com, and I am very pleased to meet you.  Except for those of you that I already know–to you: Hi, what’s up?

As you well might imagine, the hub of the blog wheel will be all things cooking and food, although not limited to those limitless topics at all.  Food and cooking are often the springboards for lots of other discussions, and we are pretty springy.  For many years I was a cookbook editor, and now am happily evolving my love affair with recipes, and the chefs and authors who create them, to the online world.  You’ll be hearing from me, my colleagues, and some very cool contributors.

I really like to be in the kitchen and blather on about it, but I am also quite a believer in the “it’s-not-rocket science” approach to all things food and cooking.  Unless it’s molecular gastronomy, which is in fact pretty much rocket science, but that’s not what goes on in my house.  What goes on in my house is two kids, a stream of guests, a lot of olive oil, hundreds of cookbooks, weekend feasts, weeknight dinners, last minute muffins for the Corn Festival at my kids’ school, invent-your-own vinaigrette day, taco night, new ingredients, Chicken Marbella, some jostling over who should make the gravy at Thanksgiving, an addiction to repurposing leftovers, artisanal cheeses and Trix yogurt, and a husband who had no idea that when he said, “You cook, I’ll do the dishes,” 15 years ago, he’d signed up for this.

I have made pizza dough from scratch, cakes from a mix, and chicken stock from everything from organic chicken to a bouillon cube.  Different days call for different realities.  One day I get to chat with Jacques Pepin, the next I’m teaching my kid how to use a chefs’ knife–and it’s all pretty amazing.

So, hi!  I hope you’ll come back often. And write to me.  And make comments.  And to those of you who I know, see you at my house for dinner soon.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 8:33 pm

    I love the way this website is shaping up. Would be happy to contribute some recipes from my cookbook, “Deliciously Italian: From Sunday Supper to Special Occasions, 101 Meals to share and enjoy.

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      August 28, 2009 1:05 pm

      Dear Frederico,

      Thanks for writing, and for your interest in joining Cookstr! I’d love to talk to you about becoming a contributor. Please email me at Chefrec@cookstr.com, and give me your email address so I can reach you directly.

      Thanks,
      Katie

Leave a Reply

