Skip to content

The Way to Anyone’s Heart is Through Grilled Pizza

August 30, 2009

I have been making and and talking about grilled pizza this summer like a woman possessed.  If I come too near any kind of live fire, my hands reflexively grope around for some raw pizza dough.  It is one of those dishes that could totally seem daunting, but you are simply stretching dough, cooking it on a grill, and adding toppings, nothing more.  Really, you will have success the first time, if you take a deep breath and follow a few simple guidelines.  And then, then, you will be the master of a summertime, crowd-pleasing, I-can’t-believe-you-made-that, festival-crowd dish that you can make over and over.  Believe me, no one will ever say, “Oh, grilled pizza again?”  Your friends will think you invented the wheel.  I am overselling this, I know,  I have a propensity for doing that.  I also have a propensity for asking, “Do you want another piece?  Are your sure?  Have you tried the black olive and red onion yet?”  Annoying , I know, but–again–people are much less prone to find you annoying when you’ve made them GRILLED PIZZA.

Grilled Pizza with Cherry Tomatoes

I am going to stop proselytizing now.  But I did write an article about grilled pizza for Hungry Beast, which has some tips I’ve found useful. And some recipes.Grilled Pizza I

One more thing, then I’ll stop.  I almost never make my own dough when I’m grilling pizza.  I mean, I could, I totally could, and I have…it’s a great project with kids. But in the summer, when you are straining to spend every extraneous moment outside, making pizza dough from scratch seems so last winter (and next winter).   You can buy pre-made pizza dough at the supermarket, your local pizzeria, or maybe you even live near an Italian specialty food store, you lucky duck.
Grilled Pizza II
Anyway, the most recent pizza from my grill.  I may make it again tonight.
One Comment leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 4:02 pm

    Katie – You are a genius. That is all I have to say on this matter.

Leave a Reply

