Skip to content

A Menu for Rosh Hashanah

September 17, 2009

Champagne toastMy favorite Rosh Hashanah memory is from about 14 years ago. A mishmash of family and friends were coming over, and one of the non-Jewish couples we’d invited had never been to a Rosh Hashanah dinner before. They arrived with a bulging bag from the wine store, and pulled out several bottles of champagne. I guess I looked a little puzzled, because they asked, “Oh, isn’t this your New Year?” And of course, it was, and it is, and we popped open the champagne and now we offer sparkling wine every year for Rosh Hashanah. New traditions, baby, especially those that involve bubbles.

Now, I have done NOTHING to prepare for the 20-something people that will be coming over Saturday for dinner.  Well, that’s not quite true. I’ve picked out my menu. If you want to crib from it, be my guest. (Yes, I know it isn’t Kosher.  I’m okay with that.)

Chopped Chicken Liver (which I may end up buying…this will be the first thing to swap out for store-bought!)
Lots of crudites: radishes, carrots, peppers, peppers, etc.
An eggplant spread of some sort, probably Eggplant Caviar, with bread and crackers

Chicken Noodle Soup with Matzoh Balls

Challah (for which I will enlist the help of family, especially the kids – a great holiday project)

Brisket, of course (I’m debating between the Braised Beef Brisket and the Dutch Brisket with Braised Onions)
Chicken Marbella–every year, but this year for sure
Roasted Potatoes
Green Beans Sauteed with Wild Mushrooms
Noodle Kugel
A big tossed salad with romaine, thinly sliced fresh pears, slivered dried pears, dried cranberry, thinly sliced shallots, goat cheese and balsamic vinaigrette
Roasted butternut squash, very simple, cubed up with some butter, brown sugar, salt and pepper–“for color” as my mother likes to say

Apple Ginger Crisp (which my sister-in law is bringing)

And I’ve picked up the sparkling wine.  Happy new year, happy fall.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2009 2:13 pm

    Happy new year to you guys! The menu sounds mouthwatering. If we were closer, you’d better believe we’d beat a hasty path to your door!

    +Jessie

  2. Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
    September 17, 2009 6:00 pm

    We’d love to see you!

  3. Elle permalink
    September 17, 2009 8:24 pm

    L’Shana Tovah to all – the menu sounds wonderful – our dinner will be a Sephardic/Israeli one as our dughter-in-law is a Sabra whose parents were flown in the magic bird from Yemen to Israel many years ago. Her meals are always a feast/festival and there is always a full table – not unusual since she and my son have four children.

    A wonderful holiday to all.

  4. October 10, 2009 12:44 am

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

  5. May 28, 2011 3:30 am

    Thank you for sharing. Hope you had a happy new year.

Leave a Reply

