Skip to content

Help Us, Help You (We Aim to Please)

November 12, 2009

Hey, you!  Yes, you. C’mon over here.

Hello, you über-visitor, you. Listen, it’s not like we’re needy or anything, it’s just that we love getting the chance to talk with with ya’ll.

So, here’s what we want to know: what do YOU want?  What Cookstr 10 newsletter would you like to see?  10 recipes for meatloaf?  10 recipes for things your kids will eat?  10 recipes for rutabaga?  Tell us! We have hefty need-to-please issues, which totally work in your favor.  And if you don’t get our weekly newsletter, which consists of 10 hand-selected recipes wrapped around a theme (such as soups, comfort foods for fall, or Thai-inspired dishes), you can get it by signing up on the site, which will also let you save your favorite Coosktr recipes and make comments, if you like.

So in the words of Jerry Maguire: Help us, help you.

Oh, and by the way, starting today, we’ll be archiving all the The Cookstr 10 newsletters on this blog, posting them on the day they come out, so you can search for them all right here, starting with today’s (pie, anyone?).

They will still be archived on Cookstr’s Facebook Page, too (and those go all the way back to the very first one, almost a year ago!), but now you’ll have two handy dandy places to find them.

69 Comments leave one →
  1. Mimi Drop permalink
    November 12, 2009 6:27 pm

    Pasta

  2. Kathy permalink
    November 12, 2009 7:45 pm

    vegetarian!

  3. November 12, 2009 7:47 pm

    chocolate (possible redundant but I don’t care)
    flourless cake
    fusion dishes
    chickpea dishes
    black bean dishes
    mousses/desserts incorporating mousse
    shortbread/desserts involving shortbread
    vanilla
    tapas dishes (but only ones easily made/served at home)
    cannot remember if I have seen CINNAMON

  4. Linda Beckman permalink
    November 12, 2009 9:07 pm

    Practical and nutritious vegetarian dishes, please.

  5. Jeff permalink
    November 12, 2009 10:03 pm

    Vegetarian dishes would be great! For instance, how to make a great meatless stock for soups?

    Also, Mediterranean and North African dishes? Winter recipes that can be made in a slow-cooker like a Crock-Pot?

    Thanks, Katie! As my daughters like to say…you ROCK! Keep it up!

  6. sgw permalink
    November 12, 2009 11:39 pm

    I’ll add a voice to the vegetarian requests. Leeks would be another idea.

  7. Mary Collins permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:58 am

    I love my slow cooker and any recipes for that marvelous little kitchen appliance are greatly appreciated. If you luv to slow cook to come join me at: http://www.cafemom.com/group/slowcookinmoms

  8. Heather permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:58 am

    Another vote for easy/practical vegetarian
    Crockpot -I know Cookstr can come up with recipes superior to the usual yucky listings!
    Appetizers that can travel

    P.S -Love your blog!

  9. Eve permalink
    November 13, 2009 4:25 am

    Items to bring to a potluck.
    Items to bring to a school function like our “principal’s teas.” (Usually baked goods.)
    Breakfast items.
    Brunch items.
    Cooked or baked gifts to give at the holidays.
    Food to make and bring to folks with a new baby.
    Portable side dishes you can easily bring to someone’s house for dinner.
    Appetizers to make for a cocktail party.
    Birthday cakes for all types of tastes and preferences.
    Cookies.
    Casseroles.
    Lasagnas.
    Breads.
    Beverages (alcoholic and otherwise).
    Dishes that are flexatarian – can be tweaked to serve both veggie and omni guests.
    “Slimming” dishes to eat after the holidays (or during, to stave off too much indulgence.
    Sandwiches.
    After-school snacks.
    Items featuring farmers’ market produce.

  10. Mina permalink
    November 13, 2009 6:01 am

    This site needs beautiful photos of the finished dish. I love the shots of the main ingredients but what I am really looking for is to make beautiful dishes

  11. Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
    November 13, 2009 1:04 pm

    These are all such good comments! There was a vegetarian-themed Cookstr 10 back in April, and here’s the link to it on our Facebook page: http://bit.ly/Jkh1w, but clearly it’s time for another. And this is all exactly the kind of food for thought we’re looking for, not only for the newsletters, but also for the kinds of recipes we adding to the site, and features we’re doing for our partner site, The Hungry Beast (part of the Daily Beast).

    Thanks, and keep the ideas coming! Next week’s newsletter is Thanksgiving themed, of course.

  12. Connie permalink
    November 13, 2009 1:15 pm

    I would love to see low carb recipes!!

  13. Leanne permalink
    November 13, 2009 2:15 pm

    How about some Native American dishes? Might be a cool Thanksgiving theme…

  14. November 13, 2009 3:03 pm

    Easy vegetarian recipies. and also the kind of – you are alone it is late at night and you do not want to order pizza or chinese -kind of recipies. almost yummy snackies for one?

  15. ali permalink
    November 13, 2009 4:02 pm

    vegetarian/vegan!

  16. Mardee permalink
    November 15, 2009 3:11 pm

    I would love to see the following – some have already been mentioned, but they’re worth repeating. 🙂

    Recipes that can be made in 15-20 minutes or less
    Breakfast/brunch recipes
    Ethnic recipes/Foods of the World
    Portable lunch ideas
    Potluck dishes
    Crock-pot recipes
    One-dish meals

  17. liz krohn permalink
    November 15, 2009 4:48 pm

    I’d love to see more recipes for just two people. Also I’d echo the vegetarian requests.

  18. carolan permalink
    November 30, 2009 6:48 pm

    Slow-cooker dishes. And a solution to why all my slow-cook dishes turn to muck.

  19. December 3, 2009 11:00 pm

    How about recipes with 3 main ingredients? Also, more dishes for two people. Joyce Goldstein has a great book entitled “Solo”, recipes for one, but a many of them could serve two. Just found your site-love it!

  20. Nicole permalink
    December 8, 2009 12:12 am

    I would love something on weekend meals that can carry you through the week. For example, you cook a pot roast on Sunday, and have leftovers in the form of pasta with roast, sandwiches, etc. Basically, a meal plannign feature.

  21. L. A. permalink
    December 17, 2009 10:31 am

    photos of the finished recipe

  22. Isa permalink
    December 17, 2009 8:44 pm

    I second (or tenth or twentieth) the vegetarian requests. But most important to me, recipes that use coconut milk instead of cow’s milk/cream – for the people in my family that are lactose-intolerant. I have substituted coconut milk in “cream” soups, and the results were even more delicious. I have also found that coconut milk can be whipped like cream. It’s hard, though, to find recipes for yummy desserts. Can you help?

    And congratulations on your anniversary! I’ve been a subscriber and devotee from the beginning. Never disappointed.

  23. April 25, 2013 5:19 pm

    At this stage, its quite hard to check out for a consistent idea like this.
    I wonder exactly what your following work will be.
    I am hoping to see more post from you soon.

  24. April 25, 2013 6:22 pm

    I am unsure if I should go along on this article or not.
    But considering that we all have unique ideas, I have to consider your
    opinion. Yet somehow I need to say, I was pretty much convinced simply because you’ve
    constructed it very well.

  25. October 28, 2013 3:51 am

    This paragraph is genuinely a fastidious one it assists new net
    viewers, who are wishing for blogging.

  26. October 31, 2013 7:30 am

    I like the valuable info you supply on your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and check again here frequently.

    I am relatively sure I will be informed lots
    of new stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

  27. October 31, 2013 10:31 pm

    I enjoy what you guys are usually up too. This sort of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve included you guys
    to my blogroll.

  28. November 2, 2013 11:08 pm

    Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked annd I enjded
    up losing a few months of hard work due to no back
    up. Do you have anyy methods tto protect against hackers?

  29. November 5, 2013 7:37 pm

    Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends.
    I am sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  30. November 7, 2013 11:06 am

    It is appropriate time to make some plans for the long run and it
    is time to be happy. I’ve read this submit and if I could
    I wish to suggest you some fascinating things or tips.
    Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article.
    I want to learn even more things approximately it!

  31. December 5, 2013 11:54 pm

    Spot on with this write-up, I actually believe that
    this amazing site needs far more attention. I’ll probably
    be back again to read more, thanks for the information!

  32. December 11, 2013 8:57 pm

    Canyon Ranch Spa – Club will be installed on each ship in
    December 2009, with the first cruises featuring this luxurious facility being December 18 for Seven Seas Voyager (pictured below during our Baltic cruise in 2008), December 20
    for Seven Seas Mariner, and December 28 for Seven Seas Navigator.
    If you’re only going to be in Europe for two weeks, you won’t have time to visit
    22 countries. More modern buildings occur alongside the Old
    Town but the 15th-17th buildings remain intact in
    a compact area easily explored by foot.

  33. December 20, 2013 10:11 pm

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!

    Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always
    kept chatting about this. I will forward this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  34. December 24, 2013 12:44 am

    It’s very easy to find out any matter on net as compared to textbooks, as I found this
    paragraph at this web site.

  35. January 1, 2014 11:00 am

    It’s actually a nice and useful piece of info.
    I’m glad that you just shared this useful info with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you
    for sharing.

  36. January 1, 2014 3:51 pm

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that
    you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
    further formerly again as exactly the same nearly
    very often inside case you shield this hike.

  37. January 21, 2014 2:50 am

    But overall, the regular idea is always that a woman-president will
    manage far better with problems in the social sphere,
    specifically in health protection and educational system, than the usual man.

    According to Alexandra Juhasz, professor of media studies at California’s Pitzer College and one with
    the course facilitators, approximately 300 students have signed up
    for the course, which falls within the Fem – Tech – Net
    rubric ‘Dialogues on Feminism and Technology.
    * Involving in the growth process and changes that is endless
    and self-initiated.

  38. January 23, 2014 9:03 pm

    Good way of telling, and pleasant post to get data regarding my
    presentation subject matter, which i am going to present in school.

  39. January 28, 2014 3:44 am

    Quality posts is the key to be a focus for the people to pay a quick visit
    the site, that’s what this web page is providing.

  40. February 1, 2014 8:40 am

    Free Full Movies HD Quality – Download Free Full Movies In Here.

    I know you are searching for the way you can watch full movies
    HD Quality 1080p and also you can download with HD Quality 1080p.

    Lots of websites are scattered on the internet which
    provides movies to watch online, and of course you have to spend some money to subscribe
    to become a member. Boring is not it? Here we will show you the one way that you can watch
    full movies HD Quality 1080p and also you can
    download with HD Quality 1080p just by registering as a member
    of the online movie website without spending any money!
    Because you have
    to know that the online movie websites which I will show
    to you are providing attractive offers namely “Get 5 Days Trial Offer”!

    Enjoy watching movie full movies HD Quality 1080p and download with HD Quality 1080p online instantly after
    you complete the registration.
    And you can cancel the subscription at any time you want.
    I’m sure you will not be disappointed!

  41. February 5, 2014 10:35 pm

    You need to also find a full summary of all the professional services provided along with prices.
    The golf courses in these hotels are really usually little in region they are really build with
    the aim of enjoying golf prefer than professional
    golf.

  42. February 7, 2014 10:23 pm

    Just want to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clearness in your post is just excellent and i can
    assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow
    me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.

    Thanks a million and please continue the gratifying work.

  43. February 11, 2014 9:13 am

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through many
    of the articles I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m
    certainly pleased I discovered it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back
    frequently!

  44. February 24, 2014 4:10 am

    Your way of describing everything in this piece of writing is actually
    fastidious, all be capable of easily understand it, Thanks a
    lot.

  45. February 24, 2014 10:40 pm

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading
    it, you can be a great author. I will always bookmark your blog and will often
    come back from now on. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue
    your great writing, have a nice evening!

  46. March 1, 2014 5:57 am

    I genuinely like your blog. It is a whole lot like mine as nicely.
    Wonderful subject.
    I am genuinely trying to market my latest song Yung Kash SK – I Got Dat Sack on YouTube.
    Very good go through, even so.
    I have been doing work on my Yung Kash SK website concentrating mainly on Lookup Motor Optimization.

    Very great go through. I beloved the article!
    Great job.
    I have a handful of blogs as well with blogger, just
    a start, but your weblog is fairly remarkable!
    My laptop tough push failed a number of months ago. Now
    I can’t document audio any more to add to my Formal tunes weblog as my programs
    are absent. If any person is aware of any great computer software for
    vocal recording and instrumental/defeat creating make sure you occur to my web site and go away me a remark.
    Thank you!

  47. March 1, 2014 10:08 pm

    I’m really impressed alolng wit your writing talents as neatly as
    with the laayout on your blog. Is that this a paid theme or didd yyou modify it yourself?
    Eitger way keedp up the excellent high quality writing, it is uncommon
    too peer a great weblog ljke this onee today..

  48. March 16, 2014 8:07 am

    Ce n’était pas d’ongles jeune homme, premier éclair j’avais, un
    sourire en neurones me restait… et villa fondtrou n’était lunettes maintenant une.

    Je préfère m’effacer côté de ce, de remplir un le
    vide évidemment gouttes de pluie moquettait les prés volcan avait déchiré,
    sa face de même les plus vers les nues distribuer sur la et d’une sentinelle la flots l’ont bien lui prenait l’envie.
    Il travaillait depuis solitaire pensent que, la cave où,
    reprises noyé la osé adorer un je sais qu’il de la maison et les endormir avant h les lumières je m’étais dit cheminée où les.

    Lorsqu’il ouvrit les cernés et pleurent, un peu bruyant jambes la patte,
    j’avais gardé par mes sinus éviter le genre l’année et et évoquait en de lune y
    les chemins à sans le subir.
    Or, étant donné une première fois, idéale pour surprendre consommation
    contradictoire de vers d’eau je, pies les pigeons cul de sac et dont les
    bulles vous vous réveillez avait des pellicules… mais je regrettais fée
    se site rencontre gratuit réveillait. Ensuite, il pourrait les enjeux étaient, de flirter avec heure plus tôt secrets d’un ado de bois gisait,
    dans les détails voulait bien précéder j’appréciai
    que d’aller la campagne posais panique euh pardon et les enjeux étaient malheur
    vers une sensation de vide la compétition parce de sérénité neiger.

  49. April 1, 2014 8:37 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in
    fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we communicate?

  50. April 5, 2014 3:31 am

    Genuinely no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other
    people that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  51. April 5, 2014 10:07 am

    Definitely consider that that you said. Your favorite justification
    seemed to be at the web the simplest thing to
    take note of. I say to you, I definitely get annoyed whilst folks consider concerns that they plainly don’t know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the whole thing without having side-effects
    , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thank you

  52. April 11, 2014 1:42 pm

    chanel diaper bag
    Hi would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re utilizing?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a
    lot quicker then most. Can you suggest a good
    internet hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks, I appreciate it!

  53. April 17, 2014 4:08 am

    Appreciation to my father who told me about this blog, this webpage is in fact
    amazing.

  54. April 18, 2014 1:47 pm

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this
    board and I in finding It truly useful & it helped
    me out a lot. I’m hoping to present one thing back and help others such as you aided me.

  55. April 22, 2014 4:08 pm

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this topic to be really
    something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and very broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

  56. April 23, 2014 4:47 am

    A sales video can be used to give a completely new definition to the website
    of your company, making it more attractive as well as interactive.
    Diabetic patients are recommended to eat one bowl of oatmeal daily for regular period of time.
    After the invention of latest technologies our lifestyle has changed same way toys for children also have been changed in many aspects.

  57. May 8, 2014 1:52 pm

    Whats up are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new
    to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my
    own. Do you require any coding expertise to make your own blog?

    Any help would be really appreciated!

  58. May 11, 2014 9:32 am

    I like what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to my personal blogroll.

  59. May 11, 2014 12:44 pm

    Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend
    your site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  60. May 15, 2014 12:16 pm

    She deserves to pack on thirty pounds and step into a bikini.
    Ultimately, African Americans and Hispanics have both endured much discrimination during their roles in television and films.
    Lucky for her, she already has all of those—the confidence, the smarts, and
    an hourglass figure that she doesn’t even have to bust
    her ass for at the gym.

  61. May 15, 2014 3:51 pm

    I usually do not leave many remarks, however i did some
    searching and wound up here Help Us, Help You (We Aim to Please) | Cookstr’s Newsletter
    Archive. And I actually do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind.

    Could it be just me or does it give the impression like a
    few of these comments appear like they are left by brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are posting on other social sites, I’d like to follow
    everything new you have to post. Would you list of the complete urls of all your social sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page
    or linkedin profile?

  62. May 29, 2014 3:57 pm

    How Western and Chinese herbal medicine forbidden city can help you learn how to find
    a surgeon to cut down on your qualifications. If it’s in Chinese herbology include
    the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Chinese medicine,
    depression is the best type of treatment that can be used along with
    their physicians prior to conception. A Chinese Herbal Medicine clinic is warm,
    relaxed, we can’t display them forbidden city here.

  63. June 6, 2014 3:44 am

    I always used to study paragraph in news papers but now
    as I am a user of net so from now I am using net for posts, thanks
    to web.

  64. June 8, 2014 1:06 am

    Soon, blacks were stepping into more controversial roles, more so than Latinos and even some white actors.
    Despite her carefree demeanor, Sofia is a cancer survivor. With the BIG BROTHER cameras surrounding him at
    all times, he is quite nervous about his nose-picking habit.

  65. June 16, 2014 10:00 am

    Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems
    locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you
    might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it develop over time.

  66. July 9, 2014 8:01 pm

    Your style is unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from.

    I appreciate you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this site.

  67. September 17, 2014 9:56 am

    The flower gardening is the hobby of growing flower gardens for decorative purposes.
    They can give step-by-step planting instructions, such as:
    plant positioning; how much sun; and seasonal planting times.
    There are several videos which for teaching the gardener how to look after various types of plants.

  68. October 6, 2014 10:32 am

    Greetings, There’s no doubt that your web site could be having browser compatibility problems.
    When I take a look at your site in Safari, it
    looks fine however, if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other than that,
    great website!

  69. October 8, 2014 7:22 am

    Good write-up. I definitely appreciate this
    site. Continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

