Skip to content

‘Tis the Season to Bake Cookies

December 7, 2009

Over lunch this week someone made a comment about how they were getting started on their holiday cookie baking and I almost choked on my salad, and then paused to consider. Uh, yeah, it’s December 6th. I was so busy congratulating myself on getting through Thanksgiving weekend (which involved not one Thanksgiving dinner, but also 6 houseguests for three nights, and two additional dinner parties, chez us) that I forgot that like winter follows fall, like a rainbow follows the rain, like a duckling follow…ok, enough. Anyway, I basically imagined that I had some sort of fictional cushion of time between one eat-a-thon and the subsequent eat-a-thons.So, it’s time to cookie up. I am going to try and convince my office mates to do an old-fashioned cookie swap, which I have never really done. That’s when you made an ungoldly amount of one single kind of cookie, and your friends do the same, and then you share them amongst yourselves so that when you deliver a lovely little box of assorted cookies to your kids’ teachers or your neighbor, and they gasp and say, “Oh my goodness, are these all homemade?” you get to lower your eyelids modestly while you nod and smile.

So, I am going to pick one really, really easy cookie, and suggest much more difficult cookie recipes to my colleagues and…wait, is this  thing on?

Here are the cookies that are under consideration. If you have any insights about any of these candidates, do share.

Lace Cookies by Robert Steinberg and John Scharffenberger

Cranberry and White Chocolate Cookies by Nigella Lawson

Champagne Fingers by Nick Malgieri

Super-Sized Ginger Chewies by Elinor Klivans

Spiced Chocolate Sugar Cookies by Jacques Torres and Judith Choate

Candy Cane Cookies by Georgeanne Brennan

Delicious Butterscotch Chocolate Chunk Cookies by Molly O’Niell

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies by Robert Steinberg and John Scharffenberger

Lemon Ginger Cookie Sandwiches by Elinor Klivans

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 12:39 pm

    This is an impressive list! I might have to give the butterscotch chocolate chip ones a try myself…in the meantime, here’s my favorite cookie recipe from the last year — Cookie Truffles. It is insanely easy and the results are out of this world every time.

    http://framed-mylifeonepictureatatime.blogspot.com/2009/10/cookie-truffles.html

    Love your blog!

  2. Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
    December 11, 2009 1:44 pm

    Hi, Framed! Love your blog, too! Gorgeous photos.

Leave a Reply

