Skip to content

11 Things to Cook in 2010

December 23, 2009

I hate the idea of New Year’s resolutions.  They just seem like a bad intersection between cliché and pre-destined to not happen.  Which is why I don’t make them.  But for some reason the idea appealed this morning as a way to force myself to broaden my cooking horizons.  I decided to come up with 10 dishes that I either have never made, or haven’t made in a while, put them down in black and white (oooh, black and white cookies!  ok, 11 dishes), and cook them before the year is up.  And because I have now decided to blather on about it here, it’s added insurance to get it done.

(Oh yeah, I also plan to be more patient with my kids, and do more yoga…but, FIRST!:)

1. lemon meringue pie

2. hot pretzels (recipe coming on Cookstr soon!)

3. pad thai

4. Korean soondubu jjigae or soon dubu

5. fondue

6. challah (and I will be looking at my friend’s step-by-step photos on the Hungry Mouse)

7. éclairs or profiteroles

8. soufflé

9. chicken pot pie

10. gnocchi

11. black and white cookies

What are some of the things you want to cook in 2010?  (We’ll do our best to get recipes for them up on Cookstr!)

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Eve permalink
    December 23, 2009 10:53 am

    Vegetarian tamales. Springerle. The perfect vegetarian lasagne. The 15-layer cake shown recently in the NYTimes dining section. Pumpkin cheesecake. OK, now I’ve said it publicly. Now I have to make them. After all, it’s only five things, right? How hard could that be? (Gulp.)

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      December 23, 2009 12:38 pm

      That cake is on my list, too…just maybe not my 2010 list…or maybe…or maybe not…

  2. Serita permalink
    December 23, 2009 11:09 am

    Have a perfect vegan pretzel recipe from a friend, they never fail to be delicious or to disappear fast!

    Pretzel Recipe

    1 package active dry yeast
    1/8 cup warm water (105 degrees)
    1 & 1/3 cups warm water
    1/3 cup brown sugar
    5 cups flour

    Dissolve yeast in 1/8 cup warm water. Stir in 1 & 1/3 cups warm water, 1/3 cup brown sugar and flour.

    Beat until smooth. Knead dough until smooth and elastic. Heat oven to 475 degrees.

    In a saucepan. measure 2 tablespoons baking soda to each cup of water. Place enough to fill saucepan. Boil soda and water.

    Tear off some dough and roll a pencil shape with your hands. Pick it up by both ends, cross to form rabbit ears, then twist the ends and pull them back to rest on the loop.

    Place twisted pretzel in water for 15 seconds until pretzel dough is golden or yellow in color. Remove pretzel from boiling water and place onto parchment papered cookie sheet.

    Salt top of pretzel with coarse salt. Place cookie sheet with pretzels into oven and bake for 8 to 10 minutes until pretzel is golden brown.

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      December 23, 2009 12:38 pm

      Nice! Now do you have a recipe for mustard? 🙂

    • Jane permalink
      January 14, 2010 11:32 am

      these sound really good, but excuse my ingorance, what makes them vegan? no dairy?

  3. Jennifer Rogers permalink
    December 23, 2009 12:32 pm

    This is so great! I’m gonna make all of them you came up with — or maybe one of ’em, anyway!

  4. Serita permalink
    December 23, 2009 12:40 pm

    Ooo I wish (though I am on a BIG mustard powder kick lately). Do have one for ketchup though, good stuff! Awww man, now I’m huuuungry! 😉

  5. Alan Katz permalink
    December 24, 2009 10:09 am

    Paella

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      December 25, 2009 8:47 am

      That’s a good one – during a the NYC power outage of 4/5 years ago I had to use up the entire contents of my fridge/freezer and it all went into a paella.

  6. jill permalink
    December 26, 2009 10:10 pm

    I enjoyed some time in Italy a few years ago. We made potato gnocchi – because my friends had some old potatoes on hand. They steamed them unpeeled and *whole*. My friend explained to me that we use old potatoes and steam them without peeling so that there is less water content in the potatoes and so the gnocchi are lighter. He said that he thought gnocchi came to be because of old potatoes. Not green, but a little bit shriveled.

    They were perfect.

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      December 27, 2009 10:07 am

      Love that tip. Thanks!

  7. travler2130 permalink
    December 27, 2009 6:15 pm

    I like alot of the items on your list especially the souffle. I’ve always wanted to make (and eat) a TURDUCKEN. Is it worth the trouble?

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      December 28, 2009 9:03 am

      I’m afraid when it comes to recipes that call for inserting one fowl into another, I am not your gal to ask.

  8. December 29, 2009 2:16 pm

    Peppermint Patties and Skittles (seriously)

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      December 30, 2009 6:02 pm

      ok, count me in.

  9. December 29, 2009 4:30 pm

    Polenta! It kinda scares me but a new year right?

    • Serita permalink
      December 30, 2009 1:08 pm

      Michelle- Saw your note about polenta and had to chime in! It’s really not scary at all, promise… Very forgiving in fact! Try this to make it easier…

      Boil a pot of water,
      Place a large metal bowl over the top of the boiling pot of water, in essence making your own homemade double boiler,
      Cook your polenta in the bowl, rather than in the pot (much easier to control temp)

      And, here’s the best part! If your polenta is too watery, just keep cooking it. If you overshoot and it gets too dry? Just add more water! You can literally go back and forth like this forever with polenta, so long as it doesn’t scorch/burn. And knowing this makes it such fun to play with the consistency- more like oatmeal to way more firm!

      Last thought- if you want to, you can bake or broil for a bit to get that firmer texture. Just cook as directed above and then spread in lightly oiled baking container of your choosing (baking dish/muffin tin/carafes), then brush top lightly with oil. Once firmed up, remove from tins or if you used a baking dish cut in to squares or use a cookie cutter to make shapes!

      • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
        December 30, 2009 6:00 pm

        Serita, this is such good info, thanks so much!

  10. Sindy permalink
    December 31, 2009 10:25 am

    Challah is wonderful. But there is a bit of cheat if you have a bread machine with a dough setting. Go to King Arthur Flour website, they have it in the recipes section and also a blog tutorial. I am more likely to make it this way….

  11. Cynthia permalink
    December 31, 2009 10:57 am

    Among the many things I’m keen to make in 2010, b’stilla is near the top. I’ve done little pocket sized ones but not a full sized one. There’s also a sweet potato/spinach (popeye’s fave) soup I’ve been wanting to make for years. I’m not a baker but I really want to make the perfect German Chocolate cake with homemade pecan/coconut icing and a homemade coconut cream pie. Both were favorites of my grandma, and of my mom. I also think there will be lots of yummy curries!

  12. Natalie permalink
    December 31, 2009 11:15 am

    Cassoulet – I have always wanted to make the original one which should take days I think. This is the year.

  13. Carole Huffman permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:16 pm

    I want to make pork green chili, enchiladas that don’t fall apart and POSOLE …..please!

  14. Kari permalink
    January 1, 2010 10:25 am

    Panna Cotta…I’ve watched cooking shows, including Martha Stewart, make it for years and thought, “Is it really worth the hype?” Then I had it at a really nice restaurant this fall and realized it totally is.

    • Katie Workman, Editor-in-Chief permalink*
      January 3, 2010 8:51 pm

      damn, my list is getting longer. that’s a good one. And I’ve long felt the same way.

    • Julie Wiley permalink
      January 15, 2010 5:21 pm

      Panna Cotta is so easy! I use Giada De Laurentiis’ recipe in the back of Everyday Italian. It is simple, delicious, and so lightly refreshing. Add fresh fruit on top and you are in heaven!

  15. Roseann permalink
    January 7, 2010 2:51 pm

    I’m determined to bake a coconut cake that is not heavy and a lemon meringue pie. Also have lots of candy recipes that I want to try: champagne truffles, mint patties and fruit chews are some of them. For my husband I promised I would try beef wellington and I will definately be trying lots of your vegetarian recipes. A year sounds like such a long time but somehow, I know something will get carried over to 2011.

  16. Jane Blazer permalink
    January 14, 2010 11:28 am

    This is a great idea! Im making a new dish tonight, Lasagna Rolls. My girlfriend just taught me this week.

  17. January 14, 2010 11:45 am

    Great idea for a list. On my 2010 list is challah (made last Friday), coq au vin, apple strudel, braised beef short ribs,….and get the kitchen remodeled!

  18. Julie Wiley permalink
    January 15, 2010 5:17 pm

    I would like to perfect a really, hearty but light multigrain bread. I love Dave’s Good Seed Bread and would love to make something like that at home. Any help would be so appreciated!

  19. nadine permalink
    January 16, 2010 10:09 am

    The perfect thai fried rice.

  20. Arlene Rosso-Baron permalink
    January 21, 2010 6:44 pm

    Spanakopita. Danish Pastry (cheese). Chopped Chicken Liver. Oxtail Soup (like they serve in Munich)…and Hungarian Goulasch.

    Thank you. I’m so glad for the Cookstr newsletters. Today’s lasagne recipes (especially Lidia Bastianich’s) sound like heaven on earth. Can’t wait to try them.

  21. May 10, 2012 7:51 am

    Introduced my students to cooking out side with a portable grill. They loved it.
    the grill was Awesome you can check it out here if you want.

    coleman roadtrip lxe grill

  22. October 9, 2014 5:41 am

    You share interesting things here. I think that your blog can go viral easily, but you must give it initial boost and i know
    how to do it, just type in google (with quotes) for – “mundillo traffic increase make your website go viral”

Leave a Reply

