Skip to content

A New Year’s Eve Dinner for a Bunch of People & Their Kids

December 30, 2009

This week, I’m thrilled to be guest-blogging over at Apartment Therapy The Kitchn. Below is a taste of what you can find on their terrific blog. For the full story, be sure to click over!

Pretty much every holiday has some kind of yin-yang emotional struggle attached to it. Well, okay, maybe not President’s Day or Groundhog’s Day, they’re fairly Switzerland-like as far as holidays go. I’ve never heard of someone say, “Groundhog’s Day makes me cringe; I always associate it with my Uncle Ed fighting with his third wife, and everyone drinking too much and regressing to their worst adolescent selves.”

BUT most other holidays do have some kind of inherent tension built it, and New Year’s Eve is clearly one of those holidays. For most people, the push/pull of New Year’s is the “Do-I-make-elaborate-and-very-likely-expensive-New-Year’s-Eve-plans-and-get-my-hopes-up-that-it-will-be-the-night-of-my-life-only-to-be-disappointed?” vs. the “If-I-don’t-plan-anything-special-will-I-end-up-feeling-let-down-while-I-watch-the-ball-drop-on-my-sofa-and-regretting-it?”

Bet you didn’t know that these feelings had so many hyphens in them, did you?

I am one of those people who never knows exactly what they want to do on that emotional apex of an evening, when one year clicks over into the next. …..5! …4! …3! …2! …1?

Head over to The Kitchn for the full story.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

