Skip to content

Does anyone need one more mac and cheese recipe? Yes.

February 1, 2010

Macaroni & cheese is one of my all-time favorite dishes to make and to serve. Everyone loves it; kids love it, adults, jaded foodies who like to discuss whether or not fatty toro is in season.  I have one friend who regularly eats out at fabulous restaurant after fabulous restaurant and whenever she comes to my house, she prays that macaroni & cheese is on the menu (and when I know she’s coming, it usually is).

One reason grown-ups like it so much is because it is often considered a kind of old-fashioned, maybe even corny dish – many people haven’t had homemade macaroni & cheese in a long, long time. These are the people who tend to sigh with pleasure when the casserole is deposited on the table.

And so I was tickled pink when the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board offered me the opportunity to concoct a new recipe and choose a cheese from their generous list of indigenous cheeses.  Seriously, in my world, this is a pinch-me moment.  They said, “Pick a cheese!”  I said, “Can I have three?”  They said, “Sure!” (From left to right they are Parmesan, Gruyere and Asiago).

Parmesan Gruyere Asiago

I often add a couple of tablespoons of Dijon mustard to the mix, but for a while now have been having a tiny love affair with chipotles in adobo sauce, and wondering how to incorporate them into…um, everything? If you puree up a little 7-ounce can of the stuff, you can keep it in the fridge for weeks on end and add a teaspoon or two to all kind of savory recipes whenever you want a little heat and a little smokiness.  And you’ll want to make sure you taste for salt, since the pasta and sauce needs the lift and you don’t want to skimp.

I used rotini, because the spirals make me happy.  Click here for the recipe, and to see what 29 other food bloggers came up with with their Wisconsin cheeses.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

