Skip to content

Refrigerator Salad

July 8, 2010

I’ve been thinking about salads a lot lately. Besides perusing salad recipes for The Cookstr 10, to me salad simply is  the most appealing savory food item of summer, so I’ve had salad on the brain for the past few weeks. Plus it is HOT out.

Today, Sarah Whitman-Salkin, our Senior Editor, is coming to my house for work and lunch, and now that I can hobble around on my cast a bit, I wanted to make her a nice meal. Off to Cookstr I go, to dig into our trove of main dish salad recipes for inspiration, with the notion of taking some of our authors’ great ideas and applying them to what I have in my fridge. It’s like my own little reality show: can I make a good lunch without buying any additional ingredients?

Here’s what grabs me: Nancie McDermott’s Chicken and Cabbage Salad with Fresh Mint, Steven Raichlen’s Persian Salad with Pickles and Olives, Frank Stitt’s Italian Cobb Salad. Here’s what I have:

-romaine lettuce

-fresh mozzarella

-leftover roasted bone-in chicken breasts

-red and yellow bell peppers

-few pieces cooked bacon

-scallions

-avocado

-kalmata olives

-mint

I roasted and sliced the peppers, shredded the chicken, and slivered up the olives and the mozzarella. I sliced the scallions, slivered the mint, and crumbled the bacon. I made a quick sherry vinegar-based vinaigrette, and I will not be cutting into the avocado until Sarah arrives, to preserve peak greenness.

And then I’ll be peering into the fridge again, waiting for dinner to speak to me.

One Comment leave one →
  1. rebecca permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:17 pm

    i’ve been thinking salad alot lately also, yours sound’s great. i’ll be trying it soon. i found a salad recipe yesterday i’m going to try called, roasted corn,blackbean& mango salad. it sound’s like such a side dish with grilled food. i’ll let you know how good it is…..

Leave a Reply

