Skip to content

Rosh Hashana Dinner, Over and Out

September 9, 2010

Did that get your attention?

Well, we got ‘er all done, without much time to spare.  There are a ton of leftovers, which is good news, as my husband has clearly communicated that he does not wish to wash any more pots or pans over the next couple of days.

Speaking of New Years…guess what I kind of forgot?  The list of recipes/dishes I made just before 2010, intending to attempt them all by the end of 2011.  Oops.  But at least I did remember, and while the likelihood of me getting all eleven recipes checked off in the next few months is slim, at least I can dig in and start.

Back to Rosh Hashana dinner.  Some families play musical instruments, some families hike, my family spends time creating pretty crudite baskets. This one is my mom’s, though my sister is the undisputed family  champion.

And here is the minty yogurty eggplanty dip I made to go with.

And the bruschetta I make almost every day because I can.

Noodle kugel, with golden delicious apples (and a few handfuls of golden raisins thrown in for good measure).

Salad with a lovely tart vinaigrette (and instead of radishes, cucumbers we grew in the garden, which are now coming fast and furiously).

Also from the garden: 2 butternut squashes, which became….

Baked Squash with Butter and Maple Syrup.

My mom made brisket and chicken with an apricot glaze, but their snapshots didn’t reflect their deliciousness, so just close your eyes for a minute and picture them.  Okay, moving on.  I added roasted broccoli to the menu, because I was so excited about roasting things (eggplant, squash) I just kept going.


Now, this was the scene stealer.  A raspberry tart, with fruit tumbled over a custard base in a crispy shell.  I can’t remember the last time a dessert this pretty came out of my kitchen.  Of course, it would be hard to go wrong with 6 cups of perfect raspberries picked two days ago.

Here are the raspberries in their native habitat, which happens to be our neighbors’ garden.  At some point I will have to fully pay homage to how lucky we are to be living next to these generous people and their prolific garden.

Every berry you see in this container is matched by another in Jack’s stomach.

And there were enough left to make a little fleet of mini tartlets, which Charlie dubbed the “tart samplers.”  Because of course why would you want to commit to a piece of tart without sampling it first?  Who would engage in such risky behavior?

And because (quite evidently) I tend to fixate on things, one more peach crostata, silky and voluptuous in the middle, crumbly and bumpy on the top.

And that’s all she wrote. Happy New Year, to all who are celebrating, and Happy Fall to everyone else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Eve permalink
    September 10, 2010 10:30 am

    Everything looks gorgeous and bountiful. And I can’t tell you how jealous I am that you have a generous neighbor with raspberry bushes!

  2. September 10, 2010 11:07 am

    and blueberry bushes, can you believe!

Leave a Reply

