Skip to content

The Cookstr Weekly: Oktoberfest Beyond Beer & Brats

October 9, 2012

The German-born Oktoberfest (this year from September 22 through October 7) is known for the trinity of beer, brats and braid-sporting barmaids, but it’s easy to incorporate some of the fun of the season into a more low-key meal or get-together. Impress your guests with homemade sauerkraut and pretzels, feast on bratwurst and choucroute (including a vegetarian version!), and finish off the celebrations with German chocolate cookies. These German Bread Dumplings, often served with soups and stews, are an easy-to-make comfort food (the inclusion of bacon certainly doesn’t hurt).

More Oktoberfest Recipes from Cookstr:

In Season: Soups & Stews

“Years ago, I was working at a tiny restaurant in Tuscany. This is where I first learned to make ragù – an unbelievably delicious sauce that I would let cook for hours and hours. But in the beginning, no matter how long I let it simmer, the owner would come over, taste it, and tell me the vegetables were raw! In my head I remember thinking, are you freaking kidding me? But he was right. I was skimping on an essential step-I was rushing the browning of the soffritto: the early stage in a ragù’s life cycle when the flavor begins to build and deepen. Now, of course, I’m super-sensitive to this step, and when I taste a ragù in a restaurant, I can tell instantly if the chef has taken a shortcut at the browning stage. So be patient – if you’re taking the time and effort to make this spectacular sauce, don’t rush it; brown it and enjoy!” – Anne Burrell

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

