Skip to content

The Cookstr Weekly: Ramps, Morels, Pea Shoots, and Fiddlehead Ferns

May 8, 2014
Spring brings all kinds of exciting produce to farmers’ markets and CSA boxes, but it doesn’t always come with ideas about how to work the prized vegetables into your recipe repertoire. Fiddleheads, in season for just a few weeks in late April and early May, are the curled fronds of young fern plants, and when cooked (which they must be, thoroughly, before eating) their texture and flavor resemble asparagus with a hint of okra. They’re delicious with mayonnaise or butter, and pair well with a number of grains.
Ramps, or wild leeks, have a similarly short season. They can be used raw like scallions, turned into pesto, or even pickled! Pea shoots can be swapped in for any soft, leafy greens, like baby spinach or watercress. And toothsome, honeycomb-like morel mushrooms match well with all of spring’s green vegetables. Experiment with the recipes below and you’ll have worked your way through that farmers’ market bounty in no time.
Warmest regards,

Kara Rota
Editorial Director
Cookstr

 

  by Jane Coxwell

 
Worth making as much for the striking visual as for the fresh, bright flavor, this springtime celebration celebrates all of the different textures and shapes in the pea family.
 
This salad is like a pea family reunion. It’s very simple but the goat cheese makes it a bit more substantial and luxurious. The inspiration for this recipe was a request for a bright, all-green salad. You can stick with using peas, or add whatever other green vegetables you find at the market.” — Jane Coxwell

More Spring Produce Recipes from Cookstr

Morel Mushroom Toasts by Alice Waters
———-
Pickled Ramps by Sarah Huck and Jaimee Young
———- 
———-
———–

  by Terry Golson

 

 “Also known as a Dutch baby pancake or a German pancake, this is rich and sweet. The batter rises in the oven like a popover. It looks especially impressive when made in a well-seasoned cast-iron skillet, which can go from the oven to the table. The pancake will begin to deflate as soon as it comes out of the oven, but that is part of its drama and charm.”    

– Terry Golson

 

Contact Us

We want to get to know our users as cooks, eaters, and full participants in the Cookstr vision. We are eager to hear from you and learn how we can make Cookstr.com even more helpful and enjoyable. Let us know what your favorite features are, what works for you, and what doesn’t. Tell us what your digital culinary journey is lacking on the web, in the kitchen, and everywhere in between. Cookstr is consistently striving to develop new technologies that make your experience of food and cooking more accessible, intuitive and rewarding – and we can do that best when you let us know what you want!

Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and by e-mailing us at editorial@cookstr.com. Tell us what you’re cooking and what you thought, and we might feature your recommendation in The Cookstr Weekly or on the Cookstr homepage!

 

56 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2014 12:05 am

    I’m a programmer and I have just thought of a ground breaking dating website.

    I have been browsing for beta testers to search and try it out.
    So you want to opt-in? We shall compensate you.

  2. May 14, 2014 2:04 pm

    Hey there! I know this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like yours take a lot
    of work? I am brand new to writing a blog but I do write in my journal every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and feelings online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  3. May 15, 2014 4:46 am

    Yes! Finally someone writes about Malayalam.

  4. May 24, 2014 2:27 am

    Wow, this article is nice, my sister is analyzing
    these kinds of things, thus I am going to inform her.

  5. May 25, 2014 12:27 am

    Your short article demonstrates you really are especially savvy and able to write attention-catching articles or blog posts.
    Do you ever construct articles for others? I possibly could reimburse you for the work (hourly, per article,
    .etc).

  6. May 26, 2014 1:56 pm

    Often we hear experts in the media that report a specific stock is planning to soar and now will be the time to purchase.

    Businesses are to heavily depending on customers for survival, without customers an enterprise would cease to exist.
    The business degree raises one’s social standing: in other words, it
    opens in your case doors that might have otherwise remained closed to
    you personally.

  7. June 4, 2014 4:04 am

    My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web page and thought I might as well check things
    out. I like what I see so now i am following you.
    Look forward to looking at your web page for a second time.

  8. June 4, 2014 4:56 pm

    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back in the future.
    All the best

  9. June 5, 2014 9:07 pm

    Tremendous issues here. I’m very hppy to peer your
    article. Thanks a lot and I amm having a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  10. June 6, 2014 5:29 am

    Excellent article. I absolutely appreciate this site.
    Keep writing!

  11. June 7, 2014 6:30 am

    Very energetic post, I loved that bit. Will there
    be a part 2?

  12. June 8, 2014 4:10 am

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this excellent blog!
    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  13. June 22, 2014 12:34 am

    This design is wicked! You definitely know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic
    job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

  14. June 22, 2014 4:35 am

    There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this issue.

    I really like all of the points you’ve made.

  15. June 23, 2014 3:07 am

    Hi to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one
    is getting more from this web page, and your views are good designed
    for new users.

  16. June 24, 2014 7:58 am

    Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s difficult to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say you have done a very good job with this. In addition, the blog loads super quick
    for me on Internet explorer. Excellent Blog!

  17. June 25, 2014 11:06 pm

    I simply could not go away your website prior to suggesting
    that I actually enjoyed the standard information a person provide on your guests?

    Is going to be again frequently to inspect new posts

  18. June 28, 2014 8:11 am

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to death at work so
    I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the knowledge you present here and can’t wait
    to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great blog!

  19. July 2, 2014 10:29 am

    Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just
    wondering if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so
    any assistance is very much appreciated.

  20. July 3, 2014 6:19 am

    Hello i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this
    piece of writing i thought i could also make comment due to this sensible post.

  21. July 8, 2014 12:44 pm

    My brother recommended I may like this web site. He used to be entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine
    simply how so much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

  22. July 11, 2014 6:33 am

    Your mode of describing the whole thing in this piece of writing
    is in fact good, all be able to easily understand
    it, Thanks a lot.

  23. July 12, 2014 12:00 am

    celine handbags
    I’ve been browsing on-line greater than three hours lately, but I by no means found any
    fascinating article like yours. It’s beautiful worth sufficient for me.
    Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content as you probably did, the net will likely be a lot more useful than ever before.

  24. July 12, 2014 8:34 am

    cheap chanel outlet
    I’ll right away grab your rss as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.

    Do you have any? Kindly permit me realize in order
    that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  25. July 12, 2014 10:17 pm

    Simply wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your post is just great and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post.
    Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  26. July 15, 2014 5:38 pm

    This site definitely has all of the information and facts I
    needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  27. July 23, 2014 11:45 am

    Our expert personal injury lawyers specialize in vehicle accidents, wrongful
    death and other related cases. A few points that could help victims choose the right professional are as follows:
    . In order to know about personal injuries claims it is important to know about the
    legality of the claim and the ways in which the compensation is
    paid to the injured party.

  28. July 25, 2014 3:02 am

    Yes! Finally someone writes about clés steam gratuites.

  29. July 26, 2014 12:27 am

    Heya! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone
    4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and
    look forward to all your posts! Carry on the fantastic work!

  30. July 28, 2014 6:15 am

    They reveal a few enemy vehicles and then vanish in a cloud of
    exploding wreckage. Incredibly agile, very fast,
    but even less armor than the BT-7. In that case get the suspension upgrade and then return to the normal tech path.

  31. August 1, 2014 5:20 am

    Look upwards and you will see the water coming from a waterfall which pours out of a natural hole in the rock face which gives
    the area its name. the NY Games Conference will be in New
    York City, electronic media expo IBC 2012 will be in Amsterdam, Los Angeles International
    Short Film Festival will be in Hollywood, Ottawa International Animation Festival will be in Ontario, International Trade
    Fair for Cine Equipment and Technology which will
    take place in Munich. ‘ Tibet, a plateau region in Asia,
    is officially under the Chinese government’s jurisdiction and northeast of the Himalayans.

  32. site de rencontre plan q permalink
    August 6, 2014 8:41 am

    What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads.

    I am hoping to give a contribution & aid other users like
    its helped me. Great job.

  33. August 26, 2014 9:42 pm

    Your way of explaining the whole thijg in this article is in fact
    pleasant, every one be capable of easily know it, Thanks a lot.

  34. September 4, 2014 2:43 pm

    We arre a groujp of voklunteers and starting a new scheme in our
    community. Your website provided uss with valuable information to work on. You have done an impressive
    job and our whole community will be thankiful too you.

  35. September 5, 2014 9:13 am

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo
    News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thank you

  36. September 6, 2014 8:20 pm

    This is really fascinating, You’re an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to in the hunt for more of your great post.
    Additionally, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks

  37. September 9, 2014 11:16 pm

    Hi colleagues, how is all, and what you wish for to say concerning this post, in my
    view its truly remarkable in favor of me.

  38. September 13, 2014 6:25 pm

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for
    android game reviews 2013

  39. September 17, 2014 3:01 pm

    The connecting cord is can be made of nylon, rope, or a metal
    chain. Pepper spray is available in compact shapes such as pens, lip
    sticks, keychains etc. The only Black Belt that has any street credibility now is a Gracie,
    Machado, or a few other Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Black Belts.

  40. September 20, 2014 7:38 pm

    Article writing is also a fun, if you know
    after that you can write if not it is complex to write.

  41. September 20, 2014 8:16 pm

    We stumbled over here by a different page and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to checking out your web page for
    a second time.

  42. September 22, 2014 10:49 pm

    Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I’ve read stuff from.
    Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this web site.

  43. September 23, 2014 6:37 pm

    This is my firstt time pay a visit at here and i am really happy to read everthing at one place.

  44. September 26, 2014 1:02 am

    What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I have discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I’m hoping to contribute & help other users like its aided
    me. Great job.

  45. considered size permalink
    September 26, 2014 7:24 pm

    I have been exploring for a little bit for
    any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area .
    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this site.
    Studying this information So i am happy to show that I have
    a very good uncanny feeling I came upon just what I needed.

    I most surely will make sure to do not fail to remember this website and
    give it a glance regularly.

  46. September 30, 2014 4:21 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in reality was
    once a enjoyment account it. Look complex to more added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we keep in touch?

  47. October 1, 2014 9:18 pm

    Hello there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept preaching about this. I’ll send this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’s going to have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!

  48. October 2, 2014 8:08 pm

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I’ve really
    enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  49. October 5, 2014 5:28 am

    I’m not sure exactly why but this weblog is loading incredibly
    slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a
    issue on my end? I’ll check back later and see if the problem still
    exists.

  50. October 6, 2014 5:13 am

    It’s awesome to pay a quick visit this web site and reading the views of all friends regarding this post,
    while I am also eager of getting know-how.

  51. October 7, 2014 5:40 am

    Utilize Facebook Insights to understand which updates have
    the very best success so you can give your audience something comparable.

  52. October 8, 2014 7:19 am

    Hello, after reading this awesome article i am also happy to share my knowledge here
    with mates.

  53. October 19, 2014 5:30 am

    If you want to improve your familiarity only keep visiting this website and be
    updated with the latest gossip posted here.

  54. Margery Bothwell permalink
    March 5, 2015 1:48 pm

    (“Squiffy” Asquith was also notorious for being fond of his drink Goetz

  55. March 8, 2015 6:29 am

    Hi, everything is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is sharing
    facts, that’s in fact excellent, keep up writing.

  56. February 23, 2016 4:18 am

    This site definitely has all of the information and facts I
    needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

