Skip to content

The Cookstr Weekly: Get Baking

September 19, 2014

As the first leaves start to fall and it’s no longer unbearable to turn the oven on, I’m starting to think about fall baking. The coming months will bring plenty of birthday parties, family dinners, Rosh Hashanah, and Thanksgiving, which means cakes, cookies, and quickbreads.

By all means, let’s dust off those tried and true favorites, but I’m also taking time to experiment with new ingredients and techniques to debut at holiday gatherings this season. But don’t worry, friends – I promise I’ll still make that pumpkin cake at least once.

Warmest regards,

Kara Rota
Editorial Director
Cookstr

Cinnamon Crumb Surprise
  by Rose Levy Berenbaum

 
Topped with fragrant cinnamon crumbs, this golden loaf has a hidden treat in the middle: a tart layer of buttery apple slices, nestled inside a layer of cinnamon crumbs. This is a real favorite in our house, perfect with coffee or tea; I also enjoy it with a glass of cold milk.” 

– Rose Levy Berenbaum

More Baking Recipes from Cookstr
———-

Harissa, a chili sauce widely used in North Africa and Morocco, is a wonderfully flavorful condiment that lends an exotic flavor to an everyday sausage-and-potato hash. If your local grocery store doesn’t carry this ingredient, look for it online; it’s widely available. This hash is the ideal accompaniment for fried or scrambled eggs, hot coffee, and the Sunday paper.”

– Lorna Yee, The Everyday Wok Cookbook

Contact Us

We want to get to know our users as cooks, eaters, and full participants in the Cookstr vision. We are eager to hear from you and learn how we can make Cookstr.com even more helpful and enjoyable. Let us know what your favorite features are, what works for you, and what doesn’t. Tell us what your digital culinary journey is lacking on the web, in the kitchen, and everywhere in between. Cookstr is consistently striving to develop new technologies that make your experience of food and cooking more accessible, intuitive and rewarding – and we can do that best when you let us know what you want!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2014 7:28 pm

    Hi it’s me, I am also visiting this website on a regular basis, this web
    site is actually nice and the users are genuinely sharing nice thoughts.

  2. September 20, 2014 7:26 pm

    Fantastic site. Plenty of helpful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans also
    sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you to your sweat!

  3. September 20, 2014 11:34 pm

    This article gives clear idea in support of the new visitors of blogging,
    that in fact how to do blogging.

  4. September 21, 2014 4:35 am

    Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check
    out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your
    blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just
    3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

  5. September 21, 2014 7:34 am

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of
    the post I realized it’s new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely
    happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  6. September 21, 2014 9:39 am

    Uninstall the sound card driver and scan it for
    hardware changes. It’s cousin, Microsoft Works, is also not
    half bad. This would include your name and title or tag
    line, as appropriate, phone number, website, and email address.

Leave a Reply

