Skip to content

The Cookstr Weekly: A Garlic Lover’s Menu

September 29, 2014

When I’m asked my favorite food, it’s a tough call. Osso buco? Mashed potatoes? Spaghetti and meatballs? But if asked my favorite ingredient, I don’t think I’d have to hesitate too long before settling on garlic. Across cuisines and seasons, fresh garlic provides a nutty, sweet, bitter, umami punch that can brighten a salad or give a kick in the gremolata, or melt in a slow-cooked, braised, or roasted dish into something deeply comforting and satisfying.

When I think about it, probably all my favorite foods include or pair well with garlic, from Caesar salads to mushroom soup. Braised meats, stews, soups, and other fall foods are ideal fits for the rich flavor that garlic offers.

Warmest regards,

Kara Rota
Editorial Director
Cookstr

  by Kimberly Mathai

 
I can’t get enough of coconut milk as an ingredient. When cooking for dairy-free friends and family, I’m entirely reliant on its richness and texture in both desserts and savory dishes. Coconut milk, with its rich sweetness, is a perfect counterbalance for garlic’s intensity. In this surprisingly simple soup, both the garlic and fresh ginger are grated or pureed and then sautéed for a toasty flavor. Bok choy and bell pepper provide a tender crunch against the creamy backdrop of the coconut-enriched broth.

More Garlicky Recipes from Cookstr
———-

 
“Concord grapes are an early fall crop that show up in New York farmers’ markets in the latter half of September. Although they were developed for the New England climate, they’re grown all over the United States (although mostly in the northern states). Unless yours is a very large or sophisticated grocery store, you will probably not find Concord grapes on its shelves. Farmers’ markets are your best bet, followed by health food stores that carry a good selection of produce.” – Peter Freeman and Gia Giasullo
Contact Us

We want to get to know our users as cooks, eaters, and full participants in the Cookstr vision. We are eager to hear from you and learn how we can make Cookstr.com even more helpful and enjoyable. Let us know what your favorite features are, what works for you, and what doesn’t. Tell us what your digital culinary journey is lacking on the web, in the kitchen, and everywhere in between. Cookstr is consistently striving to develop new technologies that make your experience of food and cooking more accessible, intuitive and rewarding – and we can do that best when you let us know what you want!

Connect with us on Facebook, Twitter and by e-mailing us at editorial@cookstr.com. Tell us what you’re cooking and what you thought, and we might feature your recommendation in The Cookstr Weekly or on the Cookstr homepage!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2014 12:41 pm

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t
    appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways,
    just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  2. September 30, 2014 1:40 am

    I every time spent my hwlf an hour to read this webpage’s content daily along with a cup of
    coffee.

  3. September 30, 2014 2:25 am

    I’m very pleased to discover this website. I want
    to to thank you ffor your time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely liked every bit of it and I have you saved to fav
    to look at new stuff in your blog.

  4. September 30, 2014 4:03 am

    An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto
    a colleague who had been conducting a little research on this.
    And he in fact bought me breakfast simply because I discovered it
    for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thanks for the meal!!

    But yeah, thanks for spending some time to discuss this issue here on your blog.

  5. September 30, 2014 1:58 pm

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing for your feed and
    I hope you write again soon!

  6. October 1, 2014 2:02 am

    Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Texas!
    Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic job!

  7. October 1, 2014 4:57 am

    We stumbled over here by a different web address
    and thought I may as well check things out. I like what
    I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to looking at your web page for a second
    time.

  8. October 1, 2014 9:47 am

    Hurrah! In the end I got a weblog from where I be capable of in fact get helpful facts regarding
    my study and knowledge.

  9. October 1, 2014 9:34 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and
    sources back to your website? My blog site is in the very same area of interest as yours
    and my visitors would truly benefit from some of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

  10. October 2, 2014 12:41 am

    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism
    or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any techniques to help reduce content from being ripped off?

    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  11. October 2, 2014 3:37 am

    I’m not sure why but this site is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this problem or is it a problem on my end?
    I’ll check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  12. October 2, 2014 3:48 am

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for weight permanently requires

  13. October 4, 2014 5:29 am

    Good article. I’m facing some of these issues as well..

  14. October 4, 2014 4:33 pm

    You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find
    this matter to be really something that I think I would never understand.

    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for me. I am looking forward for your next post, I
    will try to get the hang of it!

  15. October 5, 2014 1:57 am

    Hello I am so happy I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Bing for something else, Regardless I am
    here now and would just like to say cheers for a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t
    have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up
    the superb work.

  16. October 5, 2014 5:56 am

    This site has also made it easier for you to download movies and watch videos with full privacy of your home.
    The arguments roll on about the importation of carp and catfish
    of any size, whether legally certified or not, and the pressure to provide big fish
    for carp anglers willing to pay exorbitant sums is a growing phenomenon of the modern carp fishing scene.
    “There is major significance here,” Huyghue told
    the Sun.

  17. October 5, 2014 6:59 am

    If some one wants to be updated with most recent technologies after that he must be
    go to see this website and be up to date everyday.

  18. October 5, 2014 1:24 pm

    great points altogether, you simply won a new reader. What may
    you recommend about your put up that you just made a few days in the past?
    Any certain?

  19. October 6, 2014 3:27 pm

    WOW just what Ӏ was searching for. Caame ɦere bby searching fοr dell
    laptop

  20. October 8, 2014 8:34 am

    Mix up a robust solution of table salt and warm plainn
    tap water, and employ this mix like a homemade answer to painful toothaches too.
    If the problem is food or debris wedged inside teeth and it is causing
    pain, a soft swilling out from the mouth is usually
    effective. Nasal sea salt sprays and washes may be bought from most pharmacies.

  21. October 8, 2014 10:33 am

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re
    going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  22. October 9, 2014 7:13 pm

    This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve ffound something that helped me.

    Thanks!

  23. October 10, 2014 1:09 am

    These antennas are equipped with embedded privacy format and they are thus apt for any kind of military
    coverage. And if you think in the antennas you’ve a choice
    between your inside and also the antenna or external antenna making.
    Hdtv antenna diy vhf It posseses an HDMI output to connect for your HDTV, in addition to a
    USB port to enable you to view JPEG pictures or tune in to MP3 or
    WMA audio tracks on a thumb drive or memory reader.
    The best outdoor TV antenna should obtain the widest variety of reception possible in your area.
    There could be no doubt that HDTV renders a picture that is vastly superior for
    the one on conventional television. Hdtv antenna
    diy coat hanger The DB4 model antenna from Antennas Direct is a lot more or less just
    a set of two their DB2 model antenna, both of
    which are highly regarded for reception. Best hdtv antenna toronto
    However, you do not have to buy an HDTV immediately since there are digital to analog converters available.
    There are often two varieties of solution available in your local area,
    whether it can be a TV antenna Brisbane or perhaps Melbourne, your choice is between an internal
    and an outdoors antenna. Mega high gain hdtv antenna For more facts about this homemade antenna design, see these websites.

    If you really want to acquire rid of this reception issues then get in touch
    which has a professional antenna installation service provider.
    The location and positioning had to be adjusted
    in a number of ways to ensure that antennas ought not face any kind of disturbance while
    catching the signal. Hdtv antenna channels
    available in my area This outdoor antenna from Terk is
    the big brother for their stellar indoor model, and also you can begin to see the design similarities.
    It is advised to read the reviews on various types of Digital TV antenna to acquire more information regarding this device.
    The first and also the foremost thing that you’ll need to know is the fact that there isn’t any such
    thing called just as one HDTV antenna. Hdtv antenna outdoor or indoor
    The outside Hd television antenna that is certainly most well-liked
    may be the medium directional antenna, because it’s less than big
    and has characteristics that prevent or reduce interference.

  24. October 10, 2014 10:01 pm

    I constantly spent mʏ half аn hour to resad this blog’s content everyday аlong with a mug of coffee.

  25. October 11, 2014 3:18 am

    Now clamp this down or put weights on it until it
    is set. A little ingenuity and research will result in a handy pot rack.
    A “ready to install” stock island you can purchase in a home store with connections for
    drainage and power can run about $800.

  26. October 11, 2014 9:37 am

    Now I don’t want to just leave that statement hanging there because that could obviously be construed as a conflict of
    interest. Encourage staff to focus on the process of participating, not solely on outcomes.
    If you’re unsure, then here is some strategy that will help you.

  27. October 11, 2014 12:23 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am
    waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  28. October 12, 2014 2:30 am

    What’s up to everyy body, it’s my first payy a quick visit of thjs web site; this webpage includes awesime and in facdt
    excellent material in support of visitors.

  29. October 12, 2014 4:32 am

    I was able to find good information from your
    blog articles.

  30. October 20, 2014 10:42 pm

    MairaBattaglia

  31. October 23, 2014 9:26 pm

    Usually I don’t read post on blogs, howver I
    wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to cheeck out and do it!

    Your writing style has been surprisd me. Thank you, quite great
    post.

Leave a Reply

